Thread: Marc Summers and OCD

Default Marc Summers and OCD

I think it's pretty well known, at least among classic Nickelodeon enthusiasts, that game show host Marc Summers has, or at least had at the time, obsessive-compulsive disorder. I bring this topic up for two reasons: first, because I'm a huge classic Nick fan, probably like most of you. And second, because I also have a (fairly mild) form of OCD myself, and have since childhood.

People are sometimes surprised to learn that Marc Summers had OCD for obvious reasons - the Nick shows he was involved with in the 80s and 90s were well known for incorporating (or maybe even being based around) stunts that involved the contestants getting really messy, and that was likely torture for a person with OCD. Now, I'm by no means an expert on OCD, but being afflicted with the disorder does give me some perspective. For starters, there's a range of severity to the disorder, as there are in most medical conditions - some people are essentially disabled due to OCD, while others can fairly easily tolerate a more mild form. Also, there's a lot of variety to the symptoms of OCD. In other words, the things that "bother" one person with OCD may not have any significance to another person with OCD.